Energy Action Coalition is a coalition of 50 youth-led environmental and social justice groups working together to build the youth clean energy and climate movement.

Working with hundreds of campus and youth groups, dozens of youth networks, and hundreds of thousands of young people, Energy Action Coalition and its partners have united a burgeoning movement behind winning local victories and coordinating on state, regional, and national levels in the United States and Canada.


Energy Action Coalition is comprised of 50 youth-led environmental and social justice organizations. To learn more about them, check out our Partners page.


Since May 2005, Energy Action Coalition has united young people in working for a clean and just energy future through collaborative campaigns, including the Campus Climate Challenge and Power Vote 2008. We convened the first two national youth climate summits, Power Shift 2007 and Power Shift 2009, which brought our movement and our message to Washington D.C. in an unprecedented way. Read more about our work and history.

Coming into 2010, the Coalition is ready to work to define our decade with a Millennial vision of a clean energy economy that can solve our economic and environmental crises. Hundreds of local groups are working to move their communities beyond dirty energy with clean energy solutions, and we are poised to mobilize around these local solutions in the 2010 elections.


Energy Action Coalition is committed to building a diverse and inclusive movement to solve the climate crisis and address environmental and economic injustice. We strive to follow the Principles of Environmental Justice, the People of Color Environmental Justice Principles of Working Together, the Bali Principles of Climate Justice, and the 10 Principles for Just Climate Change Policy in the U.S. Read more about our principles.


The coalition is supported by a small central staff. To learn more about them, visit our Staff page.

Courtney Hight, Executive Director

Adam Hlava, Operations Director

Anjali Helferty, Managing Director

Ethan Nuss, Co-Field Director

Lilian Molina, Environmental Justice Director

Whit Jones, Co-Field Director